Media

Something to be proud of!

12 months ago I started working for Debenhams PLC as a Sales Advisor on a temporary contract over the festive period. I was told there was the possibility to be kept on after the finish date on my contract as a permanent member of the team. I worked my butt off for the three months and when I was told I was being kept on, I could’ve cried with happiness. It was when I started my permanent contract I really became part of the team. So much so, one of my colleagues shoved me into the lingerie dressing room for a bra fit.

It was then I learnt about Curvy Kate and really noticed that my body is beautiful and curvy. Not something to be ashamed of. I am not afraid to admit, I was one of those girls who was pining over having a thigh gap, a flat stomach and a nice round bum… Like the girls in the magazines/on the internet. Instead I was fat, always buying new jeans because of my thighs rubbing together and the fabric ripping and my belly being a nasty sight above my belt. All of the running around I was doing at Debenhams allowed me to drop some of my weight and I’m finally happy with my body for once. I’m still chubby but not as big as I used to be and I’m happy. Everything is a size 16 again and I love it!

Image

Which brings me to the original reasoning behind this post. Today I was very proud of Debenhams as a whole. Earlier in the year, I saw a post on Peppermint Style’s facebook page about “plus size mannequins” and my first thought was “It’s about time!”. However today we finally have a new fixture. Our size 16 mannequins to stay. They’re starting in the Oxford Street store and being rolled out through the UK stores in the next few months. I think this is something that every other clothing establishment needs to consider doing. I can safely say as one of the “larger women” it frustrates me when I go into a store to buy some new clothing and they have 4-5 of sizes 6, 8, 10 and 12. Yet when it comes to 14, 16, 18+ there are only ever one or two in this size and even then you do not get a proper representation of the garment itself because it’s hung on a cheap plastic hanger. At least now, larger women can see the garments on something more realistic without even having to leave the store!

See the full article on Metro.co.uk’s website here.

One thought on “Something to be proud of!

Leave a Reply

