Kitchen · Pinned it, made it.

Pinned it. Made it. #4

It has been a while since I have posted one of my “Pinned it, made it” adventures. However I have been doing them!

Just before Christmas I picked up a bag of 10 jars from a friend and decided to put them to good use! After I made tomato and onion chutney and tasted it, I fell in love with chutney making.

I stumbled across this recipe for Caramelised Carrot Chutney with Sultanas and thought it sounded different so why not make it!?  The recipe itself is pretty straightforward and the thing that struck me as a little odd, is that it prioritises the use of sugar instead of vinegar, whereas most chutney recipes use tonnes of vinegar – hence the long sitting period where the flavours mature.

All ingredients simmering down.

I tasted the chutney as it was cooking and it seemed awfully sweet (This is possibly a very stupid thing to say, considering there’s a whole lot of sugar in there!) but I wasn’t going to waste perfectly good chutney! The only tweaks I made to the recipe was that I doubled it all to make a bigger batch and instead of sultanas, I used dried fruit (with sultanas!)  which I  had left from another recipe.

Carrot chutney jarred up.
Carrot chutney jarred up.

I left the chutney two weeks before I tried any, just to see if the sweetness mellowed. It is gorgeous and rich, however you can only eat a small serving at once because the taste is rather overpowering.

Leave a Reply

