Books

Book Review: 31 Bond Street – Ellen Horan.

Goodreads Book Page.

It took me a little bit to read this book, mostly because I was so busy I just never found the time to sit down and read.

I have to say, I bought this book on a whim when out shopping with Aimee. It’s not the usual type of book I go for but I was rather intrigued by the blurb, that and it was part of a 3 for £5 deal at The Works.

As much of a good book this was, I have never thrown a book across the room after finishing it with such anger and disgust like I did this one. It started off really well and there was no struggling to get into the flow of reading it like I have with some books. The murder happens on page 8 with a great build up and the rest of the book is just fantastic with the details in finding evidence, covering past events before the murder, etc. The trial is covered well, but with the lack of a few details that keep you wondering about minor things bought up in the book at the start. The almost ending has you questioning if Harvey Burdell is even dead. Then the very ending annoys you thoroughly because, and I hate to do it but SPOILER ALERT, we never find out who killed him. The ending almost seems like Horan got bored of writing her own book and decided to just write any old rubbish to finish it up and publish it. It’s rushed and actually a little confusing.

I do not feel like I wasted my time with this book because it had to many fantastic twists and turns throughout it’s entirety. I’m just peeved that after everything that had happened, and the amount of times I changed my mind as to who could have possibly killed him (Whilst vaguely filling my mother in on the plot line and who I reckon it could be) that I can’t put my mind at rest as to who the murderer was. Even Mum was annoyed and she was only getting snippets!

I would recommend this book, but just with the pre-warning of do not get your hopes up too much as to finding out the main question you ask throughout the whole book…

“WHO KILLED DR HARVEY BURDELL?”

 

Leave a Reply

