Tags

The Bookworm Tag.

I was recently tagged by Aimee to do the bookworm tag. It is the first time I have ever received a tag and they kind of remind me of when you used to do bulletins on MySpace answering all the questions. It’s good to see things don’t die out!

Do you remember how you developed your love for reading?

I can not actually remember how I fell in love with reading. I always grew up with mountains of books around me due to my mother, father and grandparents all reading. I always used to participate in the primary school reading marathons held at my local library at the time where you got awarded a medal for the amount of books you read in a certain school holiday. I also think that my Nan helped with my passion for books and reading. At Christmas time I would always receive a box with individually wrapped presents in and one year, every single one of them was a book!

Where do you usually read?

I would not be joking if I said literally everywhere. I have no set place for reading. We all have our favourite spots but I can slip away into a book absolutely anywhere. Trains, cars (if I’m not driving of course!), planes, boats, walking up stairs, in a field whilst the dogs are chasing each other, spread out on my bed, hanging over the side of an armchair or with one of my dogs as a book rest. You name it, I can read there.

Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several books at once?

I personally only ever read one book at a time. I’ve tried juggling two books at once and it was awful! I prefer to immerse myself in one book so I can put my whole attention into figuring out what might happen next, or who the murderer was!

What is your favourite genre?

I wouldn’t say I have a favourite genre in particular. I read almost everything. Sometimes I flick through my Goodreads and there is such a huge difference between all of them.

Is there any genre you will not read?

Does smut count as a genre? If so, that. I never had any interest in any of the 50 Shades Of Grey series or anything like that.

Do you have a favourite book? 

This is a tough call. I fell in love with Sam’s Letters To Jennifer and Suzanne’s Diary To Nicholas by James Patterson and managed to read them both within a day, leaving myself as an emotional snotty wreck by the end of them both. I would most definitely not be able to select just one book as a favourite.

What is your least favourite book?

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I borrowed this book from Aimee a few weeks into November 2013 and gave up even trying to read it a few weeks into January 2014. I managed to get about a third of the way through the book and then just lost interest. I was finding it difficult to even keep up with what I was reading or to even find the point of the story. I think it is going to be one of those books that I never finish and just watch the film adaptation instead.

What is the longest book you have read?

Disregarding any Jodi Picoult books I’ve read because they can get tediously long (That, and I’ve not got all of the ones I’ve read on my Goodreads account!) The longest book I’ve read is A Place Called Here by Cecilia Ahern at 485 pages.

What was the last book you bought?

I purchased three books a handful of days ago when Aimee and myself made a trip into town. I bought Blood Ties by Samantha Hayes, The Bridesmaid Pact by Julia Williams and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

Do you prefer library books or buying books?

I prefer buying books. I find when I take a book out of the library to read I suddenly have no time to read and I have to take it back before I’ve even read it.

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading Between The Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer.

Where do you buy your books?

Absolutely anywhere and everywhere that I can! I rarely purchase books from retailers like Waterstones due to them actually charging the R.R.P on the back of the books. I don’t mind paying that price if I really can not find the book anywhere else to buy but with places on the high street such as The Works then supermarkets doing 2 for £7 offers. I also spend a lot of money in charity shops too.

Do you ever pre-order books?

I only normally pre-order brand new Jodi Picoult books but the last one of those was a while back!

How many books do you buy a month?

Oh goodness me, I have absolutely no idea! So far in April I have purchased roughly 7/8 books. Sometimes it goes a lot higher than that, sometimes less.

Do you use your local library?

I haven’t actually used the library properly (Taking books out) since I left college. However every now and then I do like going and reading the backs of books and scanning them into my Goodreads “to buy” list.

What do you think of  library books?

I think they’re brilliant!

How do you feel about secondhand/charity shop books?

I love them! Most of the books I purchase from charity shops are in such good condition that you would think I had bought them brand new. In fact, an awful lot of books I end up picking up are brand new and had just been donated!

Do you keep your ‘read’ and ‘to read’ books together?

I do indeed! On my bookshelf I organize my books by title. A through to Z, any titles starting with ‘the’ I go by the word after ‘the’. I tried organizing my bookshelf by author but then couldn’t work out how I then wanted to group the titles.

Do you plan to read all the books you own?

It would be silly me buying all of these books and not reading them all!

What do you do with books you own that you know that you won’t re-read?

I still keep them. Even if I never have the intentions to re-read a book it will stay on my shelf. If I feel someone in my life might enjoy the book more than myself, I will give it to them.

Have you ever donated books?

I have donated books to the local charity shops when having huge clear outs which is a rarity.

Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

I have never intentionally put myself on a book buying ban. I did go through a long period of not buying books (Summer 2013) and then going book shopping with Aimee once really kicked it back into me. I love buying books and I’m not ashamed to admit it!

Do you think you own too many books?

Not at all! My collection will forever be expanding until one day when I finally have my own place then I can have a whole wall dedicated to books. That or I get married to somebody who will let me have my own library in the house.

One thought on “The Bookworm Tag.

Leave a Reply

