Books

Book Review: Between The Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer.

Between The Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer.
Between The Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer.

I am a huge lover of Jodi Picoult books and normally have her books on pre-order when she announces a new release date. However this book, I did not. I waited until I had heard more about it and it was out for a brief period of time before actually taking the plunge and buying it in Waterstones in an offer they had running with Aimee so we got them for a bit cheaper.

Between The Lines is basically about a book, a purple leather-bound book with gold lettering, much like the version I purchased, found in Delilah’s school library. She looses herself in the fairy tale that is Between The Lines and realizes the main character of the story, Prince Oliver, is trying to communicate with her.

The book is set out like a typical Jodi Picoult novel, skipping back and fourth between characters. However this book only skips between Delilah, Prince Oliver and the events of the book inside this book. It is easy to identify which characters POV you’re reading (Or if you’re reading their copy of BTL) as the font is different for each one. At first I thought I would hate that, but for a Young Adult book, I thought it was a nice touch along with the illustrations which act almost like doodles on the sides of pages.

“Just so you know, when they say ‘Once upon a time’ … They’re lying.” is the first sentence we read by Prince Oliver and it shows how he feels about being stuck in a book being forced to act out the same story over and over again when the book is opened by a reader.

The ending of the book made me get that nice warm, fuzzy feeling in my stomach and it had a huge plot twist after all the twists and turns through Delilah and Prince Oliver’s struggles, it was completely unexpected, but so right to end it on.

Source: My Facebook.
Source: My Facebook.

On my post for The Bookworm Tag I mentioned how I was ‘currently reading’ Between The Lines and when I shared the post on my Facebook page, a friend told me that they’re writing a second installment to the book! Now I don’t want to post any spoilers but I’m not 100% sure how they could pull off a second installment to this book, however I have complete faith in Picoult and Van Leer that they will be able to do it and make it brilliant.

Leave a Reply

