Books

Book Review: The Vintage Teacup Club by Vanessa Greene.

I can happily announce that I am back on top reading form.. I finished a book in a week! I let Mum select me a book from my jar after I finished Louise Penny’s Bury Your Dead and from it, she pulled Vanessa Greene’s debut novel The Vintage Teacup Club.

I purchased it a couple of months back in a mad book buying spree in Tesco (What can I say, they were on offer!)  and it has been on my shelf since then.

I have to admit that every now and then whilst reading the book, I had to check the back cover to remember which character was which as the story moves rather quick for the first 10-ish chapters.

The  book is about three women after the ‘perfect vintage tea set’ and they all stumble across the same set at a boot fair and then they decide to share it between them. Jenny is getting married to Dan and their theme is a vintage tea party. After the cups have been used for her wedding, Maggie will use them for the biggest event of her career,  a lavish Alice in Wonderland themed wedding which is sure to get her flower shop, Bluebelle Du Jour, the publicity it needs for her to achieve her dream of opening a London branch. Then the cups will make their final trip into the hands of Alison, who will use them as stock in her business. She turns dainty, vintage teacups into candles for her clients along with an array of other handmade products. Before the events, the ladies go on the hunt for more vintage tea sets and they become fast friends, ultimately ending up as best friends.

I have to say that I absolutely loved The Vintage Teacup Club and for Vanessa Greene’s first book, it was superb!  Her writing style is excellent and easy to read, which means it is a book that everyone could fall in love with.

The one downfall with this book is that the ending is a simple letter written by Jenny to the girls whilst she is on her honeymoon. I would have loved to find out how Maggie’s event went and how the sale of the cups went too.

Greene hasn’t written paperback follow-up of The Vintage Teacup Club, however there is a kindle book available called Tuesdays At The Teacup Club for 99p on Amazon. The book follows on about a year after The Vintage Teacup Club finishes.

The Seafront Tea Rooms is Greene’s next book and is available for pre-order, out on October 9th this year.

Leave a Reply

