Festive

Christmas Traditions.

As soon as December 1st comes around, the family Christmas traditions normally start donning everyone’s news feeds and timelines. I love seeing what different families and people do around this time of the year. I’m going to share some of my favourites from Pinterest and then a few of my own traditions I have started myself.

Source: skinnymom.com

I always enjoy seeing everyone’s Elf On A Shelf shenanigans but sadly not a lot of my Instagram friends do it these days. I’m guessing maybe the novelty wears off after a few years? This is a tradition I think I would definitely incorporate into the lives of any children I have.. But I might make my own, less creepy looking elf!

Source: sandraelle.com

I have seen some fantastic variations on advent calendars this year. Instead of the bog-standard shop bought chocolate ones or advent candles, why not do a book advent? Get somebody to wrap you up 25 different new books and put numbers on them, you get a book a day leading up to Christmas day. This works brilliantly for children too!

Source: Kids Activities Blog

I think I made salt dough ornaments once in primary school but it is something I see everybody doing with their children year after year and turn them into decorations for the tree, or even just as little keepsakes. This year I will actually be making salt dough ornaments with my dogs paws as we have a new addition to the family.. A black Labrador puppy called Rex!

Now for my own traditions! Every year, regardless of any plans I may have, when December 1st comes around I will sit down in bed in the evening and watch Elf. Normally the DVD stays in my player for most of the month and I’ll watch it a good four or five times (I know that is a very sad thing to admit, but I’d do the same with many other films too!)

Source: thedart.co.uk

Either December 1st or 2nd is when I put my own tree up. Our household has two, one family tree and I have my own 4ft one in my bedroom. The family one gets put up a bit closer to Christmas due to our dogs (You’ve all seen the meme of the cat and how the ornaments are history… It’s pretty much like that but with two cheeky chocolate labs!) My tree is now up, decorated and even has all of the presents I’ve purchased for everybody underneath it! (They are also wrapped.. I seem to be way too organised this year!)

A family tradition that I miss, always happened on Christmas eve in Eastwood. We would all gather at my Great Nan and Grandads house to exchange gifts and catch up with one another. I always remember us in their small front room with all of the odd chairs because there wasn’t enough chair space for us all. We would all go away with bags full of stuff and it would be magical waking up to see all of the gifts stacked under the tree!

What are your families traditions?

Leave a Reply

