Media

Film Review: Fifty Shades Of Grey.

We’ve all heard of the relationship between Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele. If you haven’t, then you are very good at avoiding any kind of news reports and social media. Since the day Fifty Shades of Grey hit the media’s spotlight, it hasn’t faded at all. I never had any interest in reading the books and when a film adaptation was announced, I was pleased to see that something that wasn’t a film about aliens or the end of the world and robots taking over was going to be released, but knew that any social media platform would be unbearable around the time of its release.

A handful of days after the release on the 13th of February, my email inbox and a few other inboxes were filled with followers asking if I would review the film as they would love to know what I made of it. As I am not one to turn down a day out and a rare trip to the cinema, I decided to see what all the fuss is about. I went into this with an open mind, like I do with all of my reviews, and was willing to be converted of my current frame of mind about the whole franchise.

The film, like most things, has it’s pros and cons.. It’s good bits and bad bits.

 Firstly, I wasn’t that keen on the soundtrack. I had a listen on Spotify before I went out and can safely say that out of all 16 tracks, only two appealed to me. Love Me Like You Do by Ellie Goulding which is one of those annoyingly catchy songs that I hate the fact I love it thanks to Heart FM for playing it almost every single hour, or whenever I have the radio on. Undiscovered by Laura Welsh was the other song I liked. I love Laura Welsh anyway and this track is just fantastic.

Now where do I start with the actual film itself… I kind of like it, but I also hate that I sort of like it. The best part about the whole thing was most definitely Jamie Dornan. He’s not the usual character I would be attracted to in films but he has this adorable baby-facedness about him that I’m strangely drawn to.

A huge thing that really annoyed me was the whole “I don’t do romance. My tastes are very singular…” thing. From that, I get that the film would be more angled towards the BDSM side of things (That’s why people are into this whole trilogy of books, right?!). Although sadly I would like to call Mr Grey out on his bullshit with that one. There is more romance in this film than there is BDSM. Either that or he is trying to make Ana think he is the type to shower her with romantic gestures to get her to agree to go to his playroom.

A lot of people have voiced how the relationship between Grey and Steele is just abuse. But as someone who understands the BDSM world, it really isn’t. However Grey has definitely taken advantage of the fact Steele has a crush on him from the moment they met. It frustrates me in a way that she was a virgin too when this film started and then the relationship progressed because in a way it makes it look like women/females become besotted with the first person they ever sleep with. Sure, some do, but not everybody!

All way through this film, I can’t stop thinking about how this was apparently once a Twilight Fan Fic. That and how accurate Jarett Wieselman from BuzzFeed’s 141 Thoughts I Had While Watching Fifty Shades Of Grey“.

Overall, I can’t put my finger on why I like this film a little bit. The reason I dislike this film is because of how BDSM is shown and how the relationship between a dom and sub is represented. I might be proven wrong when the second part comes out next year and it might show it properly and Ana might become a good submissive for I all I know. Although Christian saying he’s “Fifty shades of fucked up..” isn’t because he’d rather sling Ana over his knee and spank her for touching him rather than going out for a candlelit dinner, it’s probably just personal issues. Just because you’re not into being plain vanilla with your sexual encounters, doesn’t mean you’re fucked up.

I suppose it’s a great film to go and see if you were obsessed with the books or if you’ve had a few glasses of wine with your girlfriends and you fancy a night out that doesn’t involve sore feet and loud music. These are just my views on the film and I still have no intention of reading the books!

Leave a Reply

