Books

Books That Made Me Cry.

As you would know by now, I am a huge book lover. There’s always a book in my bag and a whole shelves worth on my Amazon Wishlist. Although we all have those books that have made us cry like babies with our ugly crying faces.

I’ve sat down and gone through my Goodreads to find the books that really made me cry like Justin Timberlake crying a river.

patterson

Sam’s Letters to Jennifer and Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas are, without a doubt, two of my most favourite romance books by James Patterson. I was about 15/16 when I last read them and nobody else my age could understand why I was crying my eyes out in English class when we used to have to read. Even though my reading tastes have changed dramatically, these two books will always be two that I will go back to every now and then when I fancy a good sob.

I’ve let a few friends borrow this book and we are all in agreement. We cried so much that the last few pages of my copy are slightly tear stained and crinkly. I can’t decide what I cried at more, the book or the film… But both were just heartbreaking. I don’t think I will ever be able to face picking this book up again to re-read because it could get seriously ugly.

This was the first ever Jodi Picoult book I ever read and oh boy it didn’t disappoint. It took me a while to get in to because it jumps between characters a lot (Which is generally what Picoult’s books do so you can get a scope on everyone’s POV) but once I was in, I didn’t put it down until I had finished it. Once again, I cried at the film but was then left sorely disappointed with the ending as it was completely different to the books ending.

ahernI borrowed these two from my Mum after she had finished with them and I was gutted when I’d finished them both because I just loved them. Although I just wish people would stop making these amazing, heart-wrenching books into mediocre films. PS. I Love You was alright, mostly because of Gerard Butler but the book was 1,000 times better. As for Where Rainbows End, most of you will know it as Love, Rosie. The book was written in letter/email format showing the correspondence between Rosie and Alex over the years. Considering this, they done a pretty good job, but it just wasn’t the same. Should’ve left it well alone!

  Another recommendation from Mum.. It was on my shelf for quite some time and then I finally pulled my finger out recently and read it. I cried like someone had handed me armfuls of puppies and told me I could keep them. The story is about a little abandoned puppy in Baghdad, which Lieutenant Colonel Jay Kopelman calls Lava, and the struggle to get him safely back to the US despite the military laws which forbids the keeping of pets. I fell in love with this book and everything about it. I’m not sure why but I was expecting a super sad ending, although (spoiler alert!!) it’s a happy ending.

What books have made you cry like a baby? Share yours below in the comments!

Leave a Reply

